Report of the Arbitration Commission

Members of the commission:

- 1. Per Söderberg (SWE) (Chairman)
- 2. Ragnar Wikman (FIN)
- 3. Fritz Baumbach (GER)
- 4. Gianni Mastrojeni (ITA)
- 5. Phillip Beckett (ENG)
- 6. Gerhard Binder (GER)
- 7. Ambar Chatterjee (IND)

During the year the Chairman Ambar Chatterjee decided that he wished to step down and was substituted by Per Söderberg. We all wish to thank Ambar for his long service and dedicated work!

Handled cases:

There were three appeals against the removal of flags for the Russian and Belarus players. Interesting was that none were from the concerned countries. However, the AC confirmed the decision and stated: "Our rules are not written for a war situation. And with exception for a handful of nations, all nations condemn the invasion of Ukraine and the international sport community has decided to ban participation of Russia and Belarus in sports, including FIDE. And there have been exclusions before for political reasons. In example, South Africa was not allowed to have a federation in ICCF, during the Apartheid times."

We also had an appeal on a suspension for mirror games that was not upheld. One interesting point was that this appeal was handled as a joint work with the Appeal Committee, as it was for the mirror games as well as the suspension. And thus in the borderline of both instances.

And finally an appeal on the length of a suspension, and that was easily solved by Frank Geider, after a short consultation.

Amici Sumus and Best Regards, Per Söderberg Chairman